Some Valley Schools Honored for Academic Achievement

The Virginia Board of Education is honoring seven public school divisions and 103 schools for raising the academic achievement of economically disadvantaged students.

The awards are based on student achievement on state assessments during 2009-2010 and the previous school year.

Seven school divisions earned the designation of “Distinguished Title I School Division” by exceeding all federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act achievement objectives in reading and mathematics for two consecutive years:

- Henry County
- Highland County
- Lexington
- Mecklenburg County
- Salem
- Scott County
- West Point

The board also recognized 103 schools as “Title I Distinguished Schools” for maintaining full state accreditation under the Commonwealth’s Standards of Learning program for two consecutive years, meeting federal benchmarks in reading and mathematics and having average test scores in both subjects at the 60th percentile or higher.

“Academic success and increased achievement are the results of hard work by students and educators in the schools and divisions that are being honored,” says Board of Education President Eleanor B. Saslaw.

"These schools share a commitment to instruction and accountability that is grounded in the belief that all children can succeed," adds Superintendent of Public Instruction Patricia I. Wright.

Each school and division will receive a certificate celebrating its status and achievement. The recognized schools, grouped by division, are as follows:

- Accomack County: Accawmacke Elementary
- Albemarle County: Agnor-Hurt Elementary and Stony Point Elementary
- Alexandria: James K. Polk Elementary
- Amherst County: Temperance Elementary
- Arlington County: Campbell Elementary
- Botetourt County: Buchanan Elementary and Troutville Elementary
- Buckingham County: Buckingham Primary
- Carroll County: Fancy Gap Elementary
- Charlotte County: Eureka Elementary
- Charlottesville: Greenbrier Elementary
- Chesterfield County: Harrowgate Elementary
- Dickenson County: Clintwood Elementary
- Fairfax County: Belvedere Elementary and Pine Spring Elementary
- Falls Church: Thomas Jefferson Elementary
- Fauquier County: W.G. Coleman Elementary
- Franklin County: Callaway Elementary, Glade Hill Elementary, Henry Elementary, Lee M. Waid Elementary, Rocky Mount Elementary, Snow Creek Elementary and Sontag Elementary
- Gloucester County: Abingdon Elementary, Achilles Elementary and Thomas C. Walker Elementary
- Goochland County: Byrd Elementary
- Halifax County: Cluster Springs Elementary
- Hanover County: Beaverdam Elementary, Elmont Elementary and Mechanicsville Elementary
- Henrico County: Arthur Ashe Jr. Elementary and Longdale Elementary
- Henry County: Carver Elementary, Rich Acres Elementary and Sanville Elementary
- Isle of Wight County: Carrsville Elementary and Windsor Elementary
- Lee County: St. Charles Elementary
- Lexington: Harrington Waddell Elementary
- Lynchburg: Paul Munro Elementary
- Manassas: George Carr Round Elementary
- Martinsville: Patrick Henry Elementary
- Mecklenburg County: Buckhorn Elementary and Lacrosse Elementary
- Nelson County: Rockfish River Elementary
- Norfolk: Ocean View Elementary
- Northumberland County: Northumberland Elementary
- Nottoway County: Burkeville Elementary
- Patrick County: Meadows of Dan Elementary, Stuart Elementary and Woolwine Elementary
- Pittsylvania County: Chatham Elementary
- Prince George County: L.L. Beazley Elementary and South Elementary
- Prince William County: Belmont Elementary
- Richmond: Bellevue Elementary
- Roanoke County: Clearbrook Elementary, Glen Cove Elementary, Glenvar Elementary, Green Valley Elementary, Mason's Cove Elementary, Mountain View Elementary, Mount Pleasant Elementary and Oak Grove Elementary
- Rockbridge County: Central Elementary and Mountain View Elementary
- Rockingham County: Peak View Elementary, Pleasant Valley Elementary and South River Elementary
- Russell County: Cleveland Elementary, Honaker Elementary and Lebanon Elementary
- Salem: East Salem Elementary and G.W. Carver Elementary
- Scott County: Duffield-Pattonsville Primary, Hilton Elementary, Rye Cove Intermediate, Shoemaker Elementary, Weber City Elementary and Yuma Elementary
- Smyth County: Rich Valley Elementary
- Spotsylvania County: Battlefield Elementary
- Staunton: Thomas C. McSwain Elementary
- Tazewell County: Abbs Valley-Boissevain Elementary, Graham Intermediate and Springville Elementary
- Virginia Beach: Green Run Elementary and W.T. Cooke Elementary
- Washington County: Abingdon Elementary, Greendale Elementary and Rhea Valley Elementary
- Williamsburg-James City County: James River Elementary, Matthew Whaley Elementary, Norge Elementary and Rawls Byrd Elementary
- Wise County: Powell Valley Primary
- York County: Bethel Manor Elementary, Dare Elementary, Tabb Elementary and Waller Mill Elementary

Title I of ESEA provides funding to school divisions and schools for programs to raise the achievement of students identified as being at risk of academic failure.

The federal education law requires schools and school divisions to meet annual objectives for increasing student achievement on statewide assessments in reading/language arts and mathematics. During 2009-2010, 482, or 66 percent, of Virginia’s 733 Title I schools met all federal objectives. is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules:

Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, no links, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards.

powered by Disqus
50 North Main Street Harrisonburg, VA 22801 540-433-9191 - Switchboard 540-433- 4028 - Fax 540-433-2700 - News Fax

WSVF Public Inspection File

Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 118516744 -