Local Schools Win Awards

Governor Tim Kaine announced Thursday 89 schools have won the Governor's Award for Educational Excellence. This is the highest honor under an incentive program created by the state Board of Education.

“Students in these schools are soaring far beyond the minimum requirements of the Standards of Learning and No Child Left Behind,” says Kaine.

The awards are given based on the percentage of students that achieve advanced levels on the Standards of learning assessments. In order to qualify, schools and school division must meet all state and federal achievement benchmarks for at least two consecutive years.

Nineteen school divisions and 475 schools earned the second-tier honor in the VIP program, the VIP Excellence Award because they met state and federal accountability benchmarks for at least two consecutive years and made progress towards other student achievement goals set by the state.

“The criteria for all of these awards are rigorous,” says Board of Education President Mark E. Emblidge. “That so many schools and school divisions qualified reflects the commitment of educators across the Commonwealth to excellence and high standards.”

The third-tier award is called the VIP Competence to Excellence Award. A fourth-tier of awards is planned to be added next year and that will be called the Rising Star Award.

Schools across the state in rural, suburban and urban communities won the award, including some in the Shenandoah Valley.

VIP Excellence Award Winners:

- Rockingham County School Division.

- Buffalo Gap High, Cassell Elementary, Edward G. Clymore Elementary, Fort Defiance High, Riverheads Elementary and Wilson Elementary in Augusta County.

- Burnt Chimney Elementary, Callaway Elementary, Dudley Elementary, Ferrum Elementary, Henry Elementary, Lee M. Waid Elementary and Snow Creek Elementary in Franklin County.

- Stanley Elementary in Page County.

- Elkton Elementary, Montevideo Middle, Ottobine Elementary, Peak View Elementary, Plains Elementary, South River Elementary, Spotswood High and Turner Ashby High in Rockingham County.

- Thomas C. McSwain Elementary in Staunton.

- Berkeley Glenn Elementary in Waynesboro.

- John Kerr Elementary in Winchester.

VIP Competence to Excellence Awards:

- Highland County School Division.

- Page County School Division.

- Staunton School Division.

- Churchville Elementary, Guy K. Stump Elementary, Ladd Elementary, North River Elementary, Riverheads High, Stuarts Draft Elementary, Verona Elementary and Wilson Memorial High in Augusta County.

- Armel Elementary, Indian Hollow Elementary, James Wood High, Millbrook High, Senseny Road Elementary and Sherando High in Frederick County.

- Harrisonburg High in Harrisonburg.

- Highland High in Highland County.

- Luray Elementary and Page County High in Page County.

- Broadway High, Fulks Run Elementary, J. Frank Hillyard Middle, John C. Myers Elementary, Lacey Spring Elementary, McGaheysville Elementary, Mountain View Elementary and Pleasant Valley Elementary in Rockingham County.

- Central High, North Fork Middle, Stonewall Jackson High and Strasburg High in Shenandoah County.

- Bessie Weller Elementary and Thomas W. Dixon Elementary in Staunton.

- William Perry Elementary in Waynesboro.

- Garland R. Quarles Elementary and John Handley High in Winchester.

To see a full list of all the award winners, visit the websites linked below.

WHSV.com is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules:

Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, no links, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards.

powered by Disqus
50 North Main Street Harrisonburg, VA 22801 540-433-9191 - Switchboard 540-433- 4028 - Fax 540-433-2700 - News Fax

WSVF Public Inspection File

Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 13706997 - whsv.com/a?a=13706997