March 15, 2014
Arlington County is cracking down on thousands of residents who have out-of-state license plates on their vehicles for failing to register their cars in Virginia.
Beginning in April, the county will issue $100 annual fees for failing to register cars properly. State law requires that residents title and register their cars within 30 days of moving to Virginia.
Arlington also requires cars to be registered with the county within 60 days, along with payment of a tax based on five percent of the car's value.
Commissioner of Revenue Ingrid Morroy tells The Washington Examiner about 4,000 car owners have vehicles with out-of-state tags that are registered with the county but not the state. She estimates another 3,000 car owners still need to register with the county.