Delegate Landes Appointed to the Education Commission of the States

By: WHSV Newsroom Email
By: WHSV Newsroom Email

RICHMOND, Va. (WHSV) – “Steve’s experience as a legislator and Chairman of the House Committee on Education have allowed him to become one of Virginia’s leading experts on K-12 education issues,” said Howell. “He is known for thoughtfully and deliberately crafting solutions and working to improve education in the Commonwealth. He is well suited to serve on the Education Commission of the States. I thank Steve for taking on this additional work and for his continued service to Virginia.”

“It is a privilege to be appointed to the Education Commission of the States,” Landes said. “The Commission is a non-partisan group that brings together governors, state legislators, K-12 and higher education professionals and other education policy makers to discuss and share ideas related to education. Serving on this Commission will benefit and enhance my work as Chairman of the House Education Committee.”

The idea of an interstate compact on education was put forth in the early 1960s by James B. Conant, past President of Harvard University. In 1965, the idea was transformed into reality by John W. Gardner, President of the Carnegie Corporation of New York, and Terry Sanford, past Governor of North Carolina. Over the next two years, under Sanford's leadership, the Compact for Education was drafted, endorsed by representatives of all 50 states and approved by Congress.

ECS tracks state policy trends, translates academic research, provides unbiased advice and creates opportunities for state leaders to learn from one another. It is a non-advocacy, non-partisan organization.

Each state or territory is represented by seven Commissioners who are selected through a process specified in their statutes. Commissioners serve on various committees, which guide ECS's policy directions, oversee the budget and investments, and plan an annual meeting.

Landes represents the 25th House District, which includes portions of Albemarle, Augusta and Rockingham Counties. He was first elected in 1995 and is currently serving his tenth term in the House. is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules:

Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, no links, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards.

powered by Disqus
50 North Main Street Harrisonburg, VA 22801 540-433-9191 - Switchboard 540-433- 4028 - Fax 540-433-2700 - News Fax

WSVF Public Inspection File

Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 268002231 -
Gray Television, Inc.