HARRISONBURG, Va. -- Virginia State Police is reminding motorists to adhere to the "Move Over Law".
"The first offense is a traffic infraction and that's the fine of up to $250, now the second offense could moved up to a class one misdemeanor," said Sgt. Frank Pyanoe III who is a Virginia State Police area commander.
He says several police officers have been hit by drivers while helping stranded drivers or stopping people for violations.
Virginia State Police is calling for motorists to move over into another lane when passing any service vehicles, or slow down if unable to do so.
The second offense carries up to a $2500 fine or a year in jail, or both.
© Copyright 2013 WHSV / Gray Television Group, Inc. All Rights Reserved.