17 More Va Local Governments Get Disaster Aid

Thirteen additional Virginia counties and four cities have been approved for federal assistance to help local governments and select private, nonprofit facilities recover from Hurricane Irene.

The Virginia Department of Emergency Management says the
counties are Accomack, Caroline, Charles City, Chesterfield,
Dinwiddie, Henrico, King George, King and Queen, King William,
Mathews, Northumberland, Prince George and Surry.

The cities are Colonial Heights, Franklin, Petersburg and Richmond.

Twenty-two other localities, most of them in eastern and Southside Virginia, were previously approved for the Federal Emergency Management Agency's public assistance program, which
typically pays 75 percent of recovery costs.

The state has not yet requested federal aid for individuals and businesses.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

WHSV.com is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules:

Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, no links, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards.

powered by Disqus
50 North Main Street Harrisonburg, VA 22801 540-433-9191 - Switchboard 540-433- 4028 - Fax 540-433-2700 - News Fax

WSVF Public Inspection File

Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 129685808 - whsv.com/a?a=129685808
Gray Television, Inc.