Manchin Expands State of Emergency

Governor Joe Manchin has expanded the number of counties included in a state of emergency following this week's severe storms.

The declaration announced Friday is targeted at a dozen counties: Barbour, Calhoun, Clay, Doddridge, Gilmer, Harrison, Jefferson, Marion, Monongalia, Ritchie, Taylor and Wirt. But because of concerns over damage in border communities, surrounding counties are included, bringing the total to 27 counties.

The storms caused flooding and mudslides that closed access to roads. The declaration allows special resources to be directed to affected areas for clearing debris and repairing roads. is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules:

Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, no links, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards.

powered by Disqus
50 North Main Street Harrisonburg, VA 22801 540-433-9191 - Switchboard 540-433- 4028 - Fax 540-433-2700 - News Fax

WSVF Public Inspection File

Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 19613739 -