Seeking Federal Disaster Declaration

Gov. Joe Manchin has asked President Bush to make 11 West Virginia counties eligible for federal disaster recovery assistance from recent storms.

The counties in Wednesday's request for a federal disaster declaration are Barbour, Clay, Calhoun, Doddridge, Gilmer, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Marion, Taylor and Tyler.

The storms caused flooding and mudslides that closed access to roads. Manchin declared a state of emergency in 28 counties, enabling the National Guard to send up to 150 soldiers to assist with debris removal and other flood recovery efforts.

The state Division of Highways is repairing roads and the American Red Cross has provided shelter, food and disaster cleanup supplies. is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules:

Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, no links, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards.

powered by Disqus
50 North Main Street Harrisonburg, VA 22801 540-433-9191 - Switchboard 540-433- 4028 - Fax 540-433-2700 - News Fax

WSVF Public Inspection File

Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 19799059 -