Minimum wage mandate means making more money in Virginia

(Eric Prouzet | Unsplash)
Published: May. 1, 2021 at 9:04 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

RICHMOND, Va. (AP) — Minimum wage workers in Virginia are making about 27 percent more now that a state-mandated increase has taken effect.

The minimum wage in the commonwealth increased Saturday from the federally mandated minimum of $7.25 an hour to $9.50. The May 1 increase is part of a state law passed last year.

The minimum wage will increase again in January to $11 an hour and in 2022 to $12 an hour.

Planned increases to $13.50 an hour and $15 an hour in 2026 go into effect only if a future legislature approves those increases.

Copyright 2021 WHSV. All rights reserved.