Some Elkton town council candidates meet with voters

Candidates running for Elkton Town Council had a meet and greet Sunday afternoon at Chateau...
Candidates running for Elkton Town Council had a meet and greet Sunday afternoon at Chateau Virginia.(WHSV)
Published: Sep. 18, 2022 at 6:56 PM EDT|Updated: Sep. 19, 2022 at 2:33 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ELKTON, Va. (WHSV) - Some candidates running for Elkton Town Council held a meet and greet with voters on Sunday afternoon at Chateau Virginia.

Mayor Josh Gooden was among those running for office who spoke at the event. He’s seeking a third consecutive term as mayor and faces challenger Wayne Printz was not present.

Gooden was joined at Sunday’s event by several others running for town council including Phillip “Rick” Workman II and Virginia H. Fulginiti who hope to be chosen for one of three open seats. Rachel C. Michael, who is running against Nick C. Campbell for a special election, appeared at the winery in Sunday, too.

Not all of the candidates were at the event.

Sunday’s event at Chateau Virginia was paid for by Moving Elkton Forward, according to the group’s Facebook page. It was billed as “an informal meet and greet with our candidates running for Elkton Town Council” which include Gooden, Workman, Fulginiti, Michael, and Aaron Napotnik who is running as a write-in. An organizer said Jay Dean was also at the event.

According to Printz, he’s organizing a meet-and-greet event and inviting all of the candidates to meet with voters on October 1 at Monger Pavilion at Stonewall Memorial Park from 10a.m. - 3p.m.

A sample ballot for Elkton voters can be found here. Voters will choose a mayor and four council members. Below is a list of those running according to the Electoral Board of Rockingham County.

Mayor: Town of Elkton | Vote for only one

- Wayne E. Printz

- Joshua J. Gooden

- Write-in

Member Town Council | Town of Elkton | Vote for not more than three

- Phillip “Rick” Workman II

- Randell L. Snow

- Virginia H. Fulginiti

- Margaretta Dean Isom

- Claud R. Dean Jr.

- Jay T. Dean

- David S. Smith

- Michael Scott Eppard

- Write-in

- Write-in

- Write-in

Member Town Council: Special Election, Town of Elkton | For unexpired term to end December 31, 2024 | Vote for only one

- Rachel C. Michael

- Nick C. Campbell

- Write-in

Voters will also choose who they would like to to represent them for Virginia’s Sixth Congressional District. This race is between Democrat Jennifer Lewis and Republican incumbent Ben Cline.

Early voting begins Friday, September 23 and lasts through Saturday, November 5.

Election Day is Tuesday, November 8.