Winner announced in "Firehouse Primary" for 26th district

Published: Apr. 28, 2017 at 5:30 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

UPDATE 9:01 p.m.

According to the Vice-Chair of the Harrisonburg Democratic Committee, Brent Finnegan has won the "unassembled caucus" to become the democratic nominee to run for the 26th district house of delegates.

Alleyn Harned provided the following totals:

437 - Brent Finnegan

269 - Cathy Copeland


Until 8:00 p.m. Friday, there will be a Democratic "unassembled caucus" -- otherwise known as a firehouse primary.

It is essentially a primary election is organized by, and conducted within the party. If you go to cast your ballot at either city hall in Harrisonburg, or at Linville Edom Ruritan Hall, the process will pretty much be the same as a regular voting event.

"The first thing we're going to do is double check that you're a registered voter in the 26th district house of delegates, and you can check that information out online before you even come in," explained Allen Harned, Harrisonburg Democratic Committee Chair. "We're going to have a pledge, there is a standard pledge for for a democratic caucus, and then you'll have an opportunity to privately vote."

Each vote counts, and the winner will go on to challenge incumbent Republican Delegate Tony Wilt.

"This is basically a one for one vote. So, at the end of the night, we're going to be tallying both the votes here -- and the votes out in the county precinct -- and advancing it through internal party process."

Brent Finnegan, and Cathy Copeland hope to get the democratic nod.

You can vote as long as you're in line by 8:00 tonight.