Members of Harrisonburg's police force honored for service

Several members of the Harrisonburg Police Department were recognized at Madison Hotel on Saturday evening during the agency's sixth Valor and Merit Ceremony.

The following honors were given based on peer nominations:

— Officer of the Year: Det. Randall Life
— Auxiliary Officer of the Year: Tammy Johnson
— Donald Harper Award: Cpl. Megan Slater
— Leadership Award: Det. Sgt. Phillip Read
— Community Service Award: Ofc. Don Klotz
— Customer Service Award: Mackenzie Grimes

Department awards were also given for:

— Medal of Valor: Ofc. Kyle Ritchie
— Meritorious Action Award: Ofc. Jacob Castellano, Ofc. Kyle Dolph, Ofc. Rachel Jackman
— Life Saving Medal: Ofc. Bradley Mathias, Ofc. Hunter McKenzie, Ofc. Tyler Siever
— Police Chief's Commendation: Lt. Pete Ritchie, Erin Miller
— Distinguished Service Award: Aux. Lt. Rob Barnard, Tammy Johnson
— Award of Excellence: Ofc. Alan Dyer, Ofc. David Hanlon, Det. Randall Life, Ofc. Kent Folsom

The event was sponsored by the Harrisonburg Police Foundation.