Staunton School Board re-count to be held next Friday

Published: Jun. 14, 2018 at 8:06 AM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

A ballot re-count will be held next week in Staunton to determine which candidate will be elected to the city's School Board.

Seven people ran this past May to be elected, including Ray Ergenbright, Christine Poulson, Kenneth Venable, John Hartless, Amy Wratchford, Natasha McCurdy and current board member Ron Ramsey.

They were looking to fill four seats: those of Laura Kleiner and Amy Darby, as well as Ramsey's own seat up for reelection, and a special election to complete the two-year term of the late Jody Grogan.

Angela Whitesell had been appointed to fill Grogan's seat after his passing until the May election.

On May 1, voters chose McCurdy in the special election and, in the main school board election, Christine Poulson took 1,632 votes and Amy Wratchford took 1,578 votes, earning the top two spots


Following them, Kenneth Venable received 1,322 votes and Ronald "Ron" Ramsey received 1,320 votes.


, ballots for each will be reviewed.

Venable was declared one of the three winners after the election.

However, since the outcome was so close, the ballots will be re-counted at 9:00 a.m. on the second floor of the Staunton City Courthouse on Friday, June 22nd.

The re-count will be open to the public.