Area athletes named to all-state basketball teams

By  | 

HARRISONBURG, Va. -- Multiple high school basketball players from the WHSV viewing area have earned all-state honors.

Spotswood's Stephanie Ouderkirk has been named the VHSL Class 3 Player of the Year for a second consecutive season.

Class 3
First Team - Dominic Strother (Central)
Second Team - Carmelo Pacheco (Spotswood)

Class 2
First Team - Tyler Nickel (East Rockingham)
First Team - Tyce McNair (East Rockingham)
Second Team - Mark Rodgers (Stuarts Draft)

Class 1
First Team - Grant Painter (Riverheads)
Second Team - Adam Painter (Riverheads)

Class 3
Player of the Year - Stephanie Ouderkirk (Spotswood)
First Team - MacKenzie Freeze (Spotswood)
Second Team - Alexis Bennington-Horton (Spotswood)
Second Team - Becca Shiflet (Turner Ashby)

Class 2
First Team - Emilee Weakley (Luray)
First Team - Brynlee Burrill (Luray)
First Team - Christyan Reid (Strasburg)
Second Team - Amaya Lucas (Buffalo Gap)
Second Team - McKinley Fitzgerald (Stuarts Draft)

Class 1
First Team - Berkeley Tyree (Riverheads)

Division III
First Team - Aviwe Mahlong (Eastern Mennonite)
First Team - Chance Church (Eastern Mennonite)

West Virginia
Selected by The West Virginia Sports Writers Association
Class A
Second Team - Bailey Thompson (Pendleton County)

Class AA
Honorable Mention - Kayla Lantz (Petersburg)

Class A
Honorable Mention - Lindsey Rinker (Moorefield)

NOTE: This article will be updated as more teams are announced.