DiNucci named to CFPA Midseason National Player of the Year Watch List

By  | 

CHARLESTON, S.C. -- James Madison redshirt junior quarterback Ben DiNucci was named to the midseason watch list for the CFPA, FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy, as announced Thursday by the College Football Performance Awards.

DiNucci leads the Colonial Athletic Association in completion percentage (69.1%) and pass efficiency rating (148.2) while also ranking second in total touchdowns (20) and completions (154), fourth in passing touchdowns (15), total offense (190.3) and yards per pass attempt (7.5).

His completion percentage also ranks third nationally in completion percentage and he’s 17th in pass efficiency across the FCS landscape.

JMU has produced one former winner of the CFPA National Player of the Year, as Bryan Schor won the trophy back in 2016 after leading JMU to the program’s second national championship.

The goal of the CFPA awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

The 32-person midseason watch list is comprised of 24 quarterbacks, seven running backs and one wide receiver from 10 conferences. The Missouri Valley leads the way with eight selections, while the Colonial Athletic Association and Big Sky each have five honorees.

No. 7 JMU closes the regular season on Saturday at No. 15 Towson. Kickoff is slated for 2 p.m. at Johnny Unitas Stadium.

CFPA Midseason FCS National Player of the Year Trophy Watch List
Daniel Smith (QB), Campbell
James Holland Jr. (RB), Colgate
Derek Kyler (QB), Dartmouth
Pat Kehoe (QB), Delaware
Sam McPherson (RB), Eastern Washington
Quay Holmes (RB), ETSU
Tanner Gueller (QB), Idaho State
Brady Davis (QB), Illinois State
James Robinson (RB), Illinois State
Ra'Quanne Dickens (RB), Incarnate Word
Ryan Boyle (QB), Indiana State
Zerrick Cooper (QB), Jacksonville State
Josh Pearson (WR), Jacksonville State
Ben DiNucci (QB), JMU
Chandler Burks (QB), Kennesaw
Chris Ferguson (QB), Maine
Dalton Sneed (QB), Montana
Chase Fourcade (QB), Nicholls
Easton Stick (QB), North Dakota State
Eli Dunne (QB), UNI
John Lovett (QB), Princeton
Devlin Hodges (QB), Samford
Anthony Lawrence (QB), San Diego
Austin Simmons (QB), South Dakota
Taryn Christion (QB), South Dakota State
Daniel Santacaterina (QB), Southeast Missouri
Joe Carbone (QB), Stony Brook
Tom Flacco (QB), Towson
Jake Maier (QB), UC Davis
Josh Davis (RB), Weber State
Sean McGuire (QB), Western Illinois
Andre Stoddard (RB), Wofford