Valley FCA to host inaugural high school football all-star game

By  | 

HARRISONBURG, Va. -- Valley Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA) will host the inaugural Valley FCA All-Star Football Game on Sunday, Dec. 16 with kickoff set for 2 pm ET at Bridgeforth Stadium on the campus of James Madison University.

More than 80 football and cheerleading seniors from 18 high schools in the Valley District, Shenandoah District and Bull Run District have been nominated to participate.

“We are excited to be hosting this All-Star football game that spans five counties to celebrate unity in our greater community,” said Valley FCA Area Director Jason Stuhlmiller. “We have been dreaming about this event for the past couple of years.”

Football coaches from each participating school voted for Donnie Coleman (East Rockingham High School) to coach the Shenandoah team and Dale Shifflett (Spotswood High School) to coach the Valley team. All-Star players were selected by the two head coaches, two additional head coaches in the district, and a panel of four media members from the Shenandoah Valley. Practices leading up to the game will be held at Bridgewater College.

The football game will be the inaugural event for the Valley FCA All-Star Series, which plans to expand into different sports. Premier event sponsors for the game include WHSV, Zopp Family Dentistry, and Bob Wade Auto World.

Stuhlmiller said the idea of a community all-star game originated from Broadway High School coach Brad Lutz.

“Coach Lutz came to me two years ago and shared that this was a need in our community and that he thought FCA could pull it off,” Stuhlmiller said. “We have been working diligently for years to continue to unite our region’s athletes and coaches, and this all-star game is a great opportunity to bring our high school communities together for a special afternoon.”

Tickets for the Valley FCA All-Star Series Football Game can be purchased in advance at or at the gate on gameday. Gates will open at 1 pm at JMU’s Bridgeforth Stadium. A portion of the game proceeds will be returned to each school’s athletic program.

For more information or for media inquiries, contact Jason Stuhlmiller at 540-607-0831 or

Valley and Bull Run District Schools
Broadway High School
Central High School
Fort Defiance High School
Harrisonburg High School
Rockbridge County High School
Spotswood High School
Strasburg High School
Turner Ashby High School
Waynesboro High School

Shenandoah District Schools
Buffalo Gap High School
East Rockingham High School
Luray High School
Page County High School
Robert E. Lee High School
Riverheads High School
Stonewall Jackson High School
Stuarts Draft High School
Wilson Memorial High School

About Valley FCA
The mission of Valley FCA is to lead every coach and athlete into a growing relationship with Jesus Christ and His church. Led by Area Director Jason Stuhlmiller and a staff of FCA representatives, Valley FCA serves James Madison University, Bridgewater College, Eastern Mennonite University, 35 high schools and middles schools in the region. Valley FCA offers all athletes in the Shenandoah Valley an opportunity to unite in the gospel through small group Huddles at each school, sport camps throughout the summer, and special events like the Valley FCA All-Star Series. Since 1954, FCA has been challenging coaches and athletes on the professional, college, high school, junior high and youth levels to use the powerful platform of sport to reach every coach and every athlete with the transforming power of Jesus Christ. FCA focuses on serving local communities around the globe by engaging, equipping and empowering coaches and athletes to unite, inspire and change the world through the gospel.

Valley Team - Offense
QB - Nick Lohr - Broadway
QB - Zeb Dyer - Central
RB - Marcus Robinson-Jenkins - Harrisonburg
RB - Shane Watson - Central
RB - Brennan Brown - Spotswood
WR - Bryar Wheeler - Broadway
WR - Kyle Clanton - Central
WR - Johnny Dunn - Rockbridge County
WR - Connell Ischinger - Spotswood
TE - Derek Carter - Rockbridge County
OL - Aaron Mugrage - Broadway
OL - Parker Smith - Broadway
OL - Jake France - Central
OL - Tommy Karageorge - Harrisonburg
OL - Kenth Bustillo - Harrisonburg
OL - Josh Good - Spotswood
PK - Abrey Atwell - Spotswood

Valley Team - Defense
DL - Jarrod Nicklow - Broadway
DL - Hunter Miller - Strasburg
DL - Andreus Young - Rockbridge County
DE - Declan Franklin - Central
DE - Joey Bennett - Turner Ashby
LB - Hunter Kaplinger - Broadway
LB - Zach Abrams - Central
LB - Chase Crook - Rockbridge County
LB - Alijah Braxton - Waynesboro
CB - Jaheim Anderson - Harrisonburg
CB - Victor Lynch - Harrisonburg
CB - Ripley Plaster - Spotswood
S - Gabe Perrot - Harrisonburg
S - Cole Sligh - Fort Defiance
S - Stephen Kloosterman - Strasburg
P - Shannon Lowry - Turner Ashby
Specialty - Brandon Cruz - Broadway
Specialty - Tyler Quick - Turner Ashby

Valley Team Coaches
Head Coach - Dale Shifflett - Spotswood
Assistant Coaches - Chris Fraser (Turner Ashby), Brad Lutz (Broadway), Mark Poston (Rockbridge County), Dan Rolfe (Fort Defiance), Mike Yew (Central)

Shenandoah Team - Offense
QB - Dylan Williams - East Rockingham
QB - Justin McWhorter - Riverheads
RB - J'wan Evans - East Rockingham
RB - Ty Hevener - Wilson Memorial
RB - Tanner Kisling - East Rockingham
WR - Isaac Kisling - East Rockingham
WR - Griffin Morris - East Rockingham
WR - Dylan Bowyer - Robert E. Lee
WR - Aarian Brown - Robert E. Lee
TE - Cameron Lee - Riverheads
OL - Wesley Tinsley - Buffalo Gap
OL - Logan Dofflemyer - East Rockingham
OL - Cory Griffith - Luray
OL - Jake Greer - Riverheads
OL - Xavier Black - Wilson Memorial
OL - Jordan Good - East Rockingham
PK - Jacob Koontz - Page County

Shenandoah Team - Defense
DL - Kaden Bush - East Rockingham
DL - Anthony Kee - East Rockingham
DL - Justin Fletcher - Luray
DE - Forrest Shuey - Riverheads
DE - Ryan Wilcher - Buffalo Gap
LB - Zairon Eppard - Page County
LB - Blake Baylor - East Rockingham
LB - Jaden Phillips - Riverheads
LB - Dakota Madison - Robert E. Lee
CB - Drew Bond - Riverheads
CB - Bryce Norman - Wilson Memorial
CB - Evan Hamilton - Luray
S - Chandler Breeden - East Rockingham
S - Blake Smith - Riverheads
S - Jesse McCauley - Stuarts Draft
P - Darrias Brown - East Rockingham
Specialty - Garrett Lawler - Robert E. Lee
Specialty - Logan Ritchie - Stonewall Jackson

Shenandoah Team Coaches
Head Coach - Donnie Coleman - East Rockingham
Assistant Coaches - Robert Casto (Riverheads), Nathan Floyd (Stuarts Draft), Peter Lampman (Stonewall Jackson), Jeremiah Major (Wilson Memorial)