Local Man a Film Festival Winner

The Virginia Film Office has announced the three winners of the 15th Virginia Screenwriting Competition: Virginia Proutt from Charlottesville, C.B. Wilson from Ruther Glen and Allan Moye from Staunton.

This year marks C.B. Wilson’s fourth time as a winner of the competition since her first winning screenplay in 2004, her second screenplay in 2005, and her third screenplay in 2007. Allan Moye has also distinguished himself this year by becoming one of the very few screenwriters since the beginning of the competition to win three times.

The winners of the competition were announced before a screening of the film "Sunshine Cleaning" at the Virginia Film Festival in Charlottesville. "Sunshine Cleaning" was written by Richmond resident Megan Holley who won the competition in 2003. The film is about two sisters who start their own crime scene clean up company and stars Amy Adams and Alan Arkin. It was through the 2003 competition that Megan met producer Glenn Williamson, who optioned her winning screenplay and produced it.

A note of congratulations from Vince Gilligan, another past winner of the competition, was read aloud by Megan Holley during the presentation of this year’s winners. After winning the competition in 1989 with his screenplay "Home Fries", Vince Gilligan went on to write and executive produce "The X-Files" and is currently the creator and executive producer of the Emmy award-winning AMC series "Breaking Bad."

The Virginia Screenwriting Competition was created by the Virginia Film Office to celebrate the accomplishments of Virginia writers, as well as to promote the future of filmmaking in Virginia. It provides screenwriters with a forum for their work and an opportunity to present their scripts to decision-makers in the film industry. Each writer submits a full-length screenplay to be evaluated by a panel of Virginia judges. Final scripts from the first round of judging are then sent to a second panel comprised of professionals active in the film or television industry.

One-hundred-eight screenplays were submitted to the competition this year and fifteen finalists were selected to go to the second round of judging. In addition to the winners, the finalists were Drew Babb (Lincoln), Patrick Beltran & Lu Ugaz (Winchester & Annandale), Alan T. Williamson (Midlothian), Ramona Taylor (Midlothian), Andrew Carnwath & Robert Kelshian (Richmond), Virginia Shepherd (Keene), Matthew Warner (Staunton), Vincent Sweeney (Roanoke), Thomas Randolph (White Plains), George Wills (Blacksburg), Scott Norris (Charlottesville) and Annie Elizabeth Ryan (Lorton).

The Virginia Screenwriting Competition is held annually and is open to Virginia residents. The majority of the script must take place in Virginia or at locations which could reasonably be found in Virginia. For further information on the competition, contact the Virginia Film Office at (800) 854-6233 or visit the website.